4.29.2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie


This week's Top Ten Tuesday on The Broke and the Bookish is "Top Ten Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie/Comic/Play etc." I get to pick what "X" represents. Because I'm pathologically bad at decisions and because I want EVERYTHING all at once, I'm going to do a few different things with this post. Here we go!

1. If you like the movie Amélie...

http://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f18/biggest-peeves-at-university-w-gifs-247025/index25.html

This is one of my favourite movies of all time. I loved Amélie's sense of the whimsical, her ability to take a normal life and make it into a colourful adventure. And while no books quite manage to equal Amélie's wide-eyed, rosy tinted view of the world, there are some that come close: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, The Rosie Project, and The Silver Linings Playbook. I've also heard that The Elegance of the Hedgehog is recommended for Amélie fans, but I haven't read it yet!

2. The Walking Dead

http://uproxx.com/tv/2012/11/10-things-we-learned-from-last-nights-nail-chewing-episode-of-the-walking-dead/

What I love most about The Walking Dead is that the characters are survivors. They've been through some shit, but they've learned to hold their own and keep on going. The Razorland Trilogy has the obvious similarity of involving zombie-like creatures. But that's not why I associated it with this show. It's because of the badassness of the characters and their ability to find purpose and will to survive even in grim circumstances. I'd also recommend these books to fans of the movie 12 Monkeys - but that's mostly because I picture the setting to be similar.

3. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

http://giphy.com/gifs/bzQ9MyHlSqa0E

Okay, so I know this was originally a book, so it's kind of cheating, but still. Grasshopper Jungle. It had to be done.

4. Titanic

http://languagelabunleashed.org/2014/03/enter-the-tugboats/

These Broken Stars. Let me just say up front that I'm not a Titanic fan. The bit in that GIF? Probably my favourite part. But if you do like it, you'll like this book.

5. Criminal Minds

http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/penelope-garcia/images/35689295/title/penelope-garcia-fanart

While the obvious choice for this is Mindhunter (John Douglas is credited with helping create the BAU, and I believe some episodes are based on his actual cases), I'm also including The Naturals. It's kind of a YA version of a similar idea, and CM kept popping into my head as I was reading.

6. The Lake House

http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=54

The Griffin and Sabine books by Nick Bantock. Except that the books are much, much better.

7. Felicity


Fangirl. There's a similar theme of being overwhelmed when faced with the world of college. There's also a fantastic roommate - the whole time I was reading I just kept thinking of Megan!

8. Big Fish

http://giphy.com/gifs/YnUmEJrDWPny0

The Night Circus. I haven't read the whole thing yet, but there's a similar sense of wonderment to it. Though less of the absurd.

9. Star Crossed

http://www.nerdlikeyou.com/good-bad-geeky-tv-shows-cant-wait/

Obsidian, Alienated, Roswell (show and book series). I haven't read Alienated yet, but when I started watching Star Crossed what I'd read in reviews popped into my head... and stuck there. 

Almost made it to ten....

2 comments :

  1. These are great picks, I love the GIF! I really want to read The Night Circus so much :) also, I'm no lover of the Titanic film either...

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yessssss! I'm not the only one! Thanks - I had a lot of fun picking these GIFs. There were giggles.

      I love The Night Circus so far, but I've only read the first couple of chapters. Not because it wasn't good - quite the opposite - I know I'm not going to want it to end! I've kind of been saving it. But I think the time has come to get into it!

      If you read it before I do, let me know what you think okay?

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

      Delete

Share Buttons